India Squad For South Africa

Check Cricket India T20I, ODI & Test squad for South Africa tour, Suryakumar Yadav to lead in T20Is, KL Rahul captain in ODIs. Rohit, Kohli are only in the Test squad

Nov 30, 2023 - 12:55
Nov 30, 2023 - 13:29

India Squad For South Africa 

India squad for south africa players, India squad for south africa 2023,india squad for south africa 2024,
india tour of south africa 2023 24,india odi squad for south africa announcement date, India squad for south africa captain,india squad for south africa odi, 

Cricket Update Series India tour of South Africa, 2023.

The BCCI on Thursday announced India's squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa, where the team is scheduled to play three T20Is, as many ODIs and two Tests. The three-match T20I series is set to begin from December 10 Both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been rested from the white ball leg of the tour Rohit will be in charge of leadership in the Test series as well. Kohli will also return to international cricket after the World Cup for the first time during Tests. Meanwhile, KL Rahul has been named the ODI captain and Suryakumar Yadav will lead the side in the T20s as all-rounder Hardik Pandya is yet to recover from the injury sustained during the World Cup.

The squad was announced after BCCI chairman of selectors Ajit Agarkar met other board officials and head coach Rahul Dravid in New Delhi on Thursday. The meeting also reviewed India's Ward Cup performance.

Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammad Siraj will return for the T20 series. These three cricketers were absent from the ongoing five-match series against Australia at home. 

Live Cricket Score, South Africa vs India, 1st T20I

It was earlier reported that the 35-year-old Kohli had requested a break from the white-ball format; The Indian batsman was adjudged the player of the tournament during the World Cup due to his record-breaking performance of 765 runs in 11 matches. During the semi-final against New Zealand, Kohli also broke Sachin Tendulkar's iconic record for most centuries in ODIs by scoring his 50th century in Mumbai. Livecricket

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli requested the board to take a break from the white-ball leg of the tour," the BCCI said.
Samson, Patidar returns to ODIs; First call for good looks

In another big news, Sanju Samson is back in the ODI squad and so is Rajat Patidar. Samson was overlooked for the Australia T20 while Patidar is available for selection after a long injury layoff.

Tamil Nadu cricketer Sai Sudharsan has received his maiden India call-up for the three-match ODI series that also features leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. Interestingly, Gill and Surya were not named in the ODI squad. Gill is part of the T20I and Tests and Surya will return home after leading India in the T20I.

Apart from Kohli and Rohit, Jasprit Bumrah is another big name who will not be part of the white ball format in South Africa. He will join the squad for the two-match Test series starting on December 26. Livecricket

Ajinkya Rahane dropped, KL Rahul as Test keeper

Meanwhile, fast bowler Mohammad Shami's availability for the two-match Test series is subject to fitness.

"Md. Shami is currently undergoing treatment and his availability is subject to fitness," the BCCI said.

Ajinkya Rahane was given a surprise call-up for the World Test Championship final earlier this year and elevated to vice-captaincy for the West Indies Tests. Shreyas Iyer has come in his place.

Interestingly, KL Rahul was listed as a wicketkeeper in the Test team. It also marks his return to the red-ball side after being dropped midway through the Border-Gavaskar Trophy earlier this year. He will fight with Ishan Kishan for the keeper slot in the XI. This means, if Rahul plays, he will play in the middle order. Live Cricket Score, South Africa vs India, 2nd T20I

Aiswal retains his place as an opener thanks to his excellent outing in the West Indies.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is vs South Africa: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs vs South Africa: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 2 Tests vs South Africa: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

What's Your Reaction?