How much money does India get for winning T20 World Cup?

cricket news, india news, sports news, Indian Express reported that it has been finalized who will get the prize money announced after winning the World Cup.

Jul 8, 2024 - 12:26
Jul 11, 2024 - 22:05

Yasaswi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson and Yuzvendra Chahal - none of these three got a chance to play a match despite being in India's World Cup squad. They spent time traveling with the team throughout the T20 World Cup. Sometimes he only fielded for a while as a substitute for others.

Even if they can't play the match, they are getting a reward of 5 crore rupees for being in India's World Cup team. After winning the T20 World Cup after 17 years, the Indian cricket board BCCI announced a total prize money of Rs 125 crore for the entire team. Out of this, everyone in the 15-member team will get Rs. 5 crore. However, not everyone with the World Cup team is getting the same amount of money. Because the total number of members of the team going to USA and West Indies is 42 people.

India's Indian Express reported that it has been finalized who will get the prize money announced after winning the World Cup. Among them, 15 players along with the head coach Rahul Dravid are getting 5 crore rupees. The coaching staff also included batting coach Vikram Rathore, fielding coach T Dilip and bowling coach Paras Mambre. All of them will get two and a half crore rupees. And the players selected by the selection committee headed by Ajit Agarkar will each get Rs 1 crore.

India's 42-member World Cup squad included three physios, three throwdown specialists, two massage therapists and a strength and conditioning coach. All of them will be given 2 crore rupees. Rinku Singh, Shubman Gill, Abesh Khan and Khalil Ahmed, who have been called up as reserve players despite not being regular with the team, will be paid Rs 1 crore each. Apart from this, BCCI staff including video analysts, media officers will also be awarded. In this regard, a BCCI source said, "The players and support staff have been informed about the award amount. All have been asked to submit invoices.

Outside the BCCI, Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Sindh has announced a prize money of Rs 11 crore for the T20 World Cup winning team. Before this, India last won the ICC tournament in 2013. At that time, BCCI paid Rs 1 crore to each player of Mahendra Singh Dhoni's team that won the Champions Trophy. 30 lakhs were paid to the support staff. The players of Dhoni's 50-over ODI World Cup-winning team in 2011 got Rs 2 crore, support staff Rs 50 lakh and selectors Rs 25 lakh. And after winning the first T20 World Cup in 2007, the entire team was paid Rs 12 crore.

The BCCI did not give any prize money to the Indian team that won the first World Cup in 1983. As the board did not have the money to give the award, the concert was organized with Lata Mungeshkar to raise funds. According to a report in The Times of India, the players of the Kapil Dev-led team were paid Rs 25,000 at the time.

What's Your Reaction?