Series india tour of south africa 2023 24 India Squad

Series india tour of south africa 2023 24 India Squad: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli Kohli rested for white-ball series in South Africa

Nov 30, 2023 - 13:28
Nov 30, 2023 - 14:12

Series india tour of south africa 2023 24 India Squad

Suryakumar Yadav, who is captaining India in the ongoing five-match Twenty20 series against Australia, will play the role in the shortest format during the three-match series against South Africa starting December 10 in Durban, while KL Rahul will remain. Captained the three-match ODI series against the Proteas. The BCCI selection committee, which met on Thursday, decided to deputize pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah as Rohit Sharma's deputy for the two-Test series starting December 26 at Centurion.  Australia vs India  4th t20i

New Delhi: In a development that could signal the trajectory of India's white-ball cricket, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have asked the Indian cricket board BCCI not to consider them for the tour of South Africa. This meant that the Ajit Agarkar-led selection committee had to name three different captains for the three formats for the month-long tour.
The ODI captaincy has been handed over and Rohit will be captained in the two Tests. Suryakumar Yadav to lead T20 team in absence of Rohit and Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul

Jasprit Bumrah has been named the Test vice-captain.
to matches 

Mohammed Shami has been included in the Test squad subject to medical fitness. While the BCCI has not specified the nature of the injury, sources said the medical team has informed the selectors that the pacer has a good chance of being fit for the Test series.
It is reported that the BCCI and the selectors tried to persuade Rohit to play T20 ahead of the upcoming T20 World Cup in June. But Rohit has revealed that he is not interested in playing the shortest format so far. Kohli has also sought an indefinite break from white-ball cricket. Rahul has been dropped from the T20 team. Interestingly, Akshar Patel has also been dropped from the T20 squad as Ravindra Jadeja has been appointed vice-captain.
Rahul Dravid retained as India head coach alongside support staff, BCCI ends speculation

The three-match T20 series is seen as an opportunity to prepare the main squad for the T20 World Cup in the United States and the Caribbean. That is why Shubman Gill will play the T20I series at the start of the tour and will be rested for the three ODIs before the Test series.
Yasswi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Mukesh Kumar are the only players to be picked across formats.
Rahul returns to Tests as WK
TOI reported on November 22, selectors decided to drop Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane. The selectors got Shreyas Iyer in the middle order and KL Rahul agreed to don the gloves in the longest format. Rahul was dropped from the Test squad midway through the home series against Australia earlier this year. Rahul provides a solid batting option in the middle order. Ishan Kishan will be the second wicket keeper.
Persidh Krishna has been kept in the Test squad as there are question marks over Shami's availability. Shardul Thakur has been retained for all-round duty.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is vs South Africa: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs vs South Africa: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India’s squad for 2 Tests vs South Africa: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

India vs South Africa Full Schedule

1st T20I – December 10, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in Kingsmead, Durban

2nd T20I – December 12, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha

3rd T20I – December 14, 2023 at 9:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

1st ODI – December 17, 2023 at 1:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

2nd ODI – December 19, 2023 at 4:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha

3rd ODI – December 21, 2023 at 4:30 PM IST in Boland Park, Paarl

1st Test – December 26-30, 2023 at 1:30 PM IST in SuperSport Park, Centurion

2nd Test – January 3-7, 2024 at 2:00 PM IST in Newlands, Cape Town

What's Your Reaction?