Cricket News NZ vs BAN 1st T20I Bangladesh won by 5 wickets

Cricket News NZ vs BAN 1st T20I Bangladesh won by 5 wickets Series: Bangladesh tour of New Zealand, 2023 Venue: McLean Park, Napier Date & Time: Dec 27

Dec 27, 2023 - 04:35
Dec 27, 2023 - 12:02

Cricket News NZ vs BAN 1st T20I Bangladesh won by 5 wickets

cricket news, update cricket, cricket update, cricket new zealand, cricket bangladesh , cricket match, cricket score,

NZ 134/9 (20)
BAN 137/5 (18.4)
Bangladesh won by 5 wkts

Bangladesh's first win in the 12th match on New Zealand soil

Milneke Mehdi's six over cover. Then four. That is the historical victory of Bangladesh. Bangladesh defeated New Zealand for the first time in T20 on their soil in the tenth match.

The bowlers were the key to Bangladesh's victory in the last ODI in Napier. The same in the first match of the T20 series at the same ground. Losing 3 wickets for 1 run, 4 wickets for 20 runs, New Zealand went up to 134 runs. Liton held Bangladesh's innings in the run chase. Had the help of luck, was not exactly fit. However, he remained unbeaten with 42 runs off 36 balls. Read More 

The venue and wicket are the same. The ground where the last match of the Bangladesh-New Zealand ODI series took place at McLean Park in Napier, the first match of the three-match T20 series is also taking place on the same wicket. On that day too, Bangladesh bowled first and collapsed in the batting of the Kiwis. It is still the same today. There is only one difference - in the last one-day match, the dominance of the pacers of the Bangladesh team was clear. Today, spinner Sheikh Mehdi Hasan has dominated the pacers with the new ball of Bangladesh.

New Zealand lost 3 wickets for 1 run in 1.3 overs. Kiwis have never lost 3 wickets for so few runs in T20 before. The hosts lost 4 wickets for 20 runs in the powerplay. Jimmy Neesham saved New Zealand's standard from there. His innings of 48 off 29 balls helped New Zealand reach 134 for 9 despite falling wicket after wicket. Shariful Islam took 3 wickets for Bangladesh. Sheikh Mehdi Hasan and Mostafizur Rahman took 2 wickets each. ( Live Cricket Score, New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 3nd T20I )

Bangladesh's bowling power started with the hand of Mehdi. New Zealand's two openers, Tim Seifert and Finn Allen, are both comfortable with pace bowling. That is why Nazmul Hossain gave the ball to spinner Mehdi in the first over of the innings. It also works. He brought the team a wicket on the fourth ball of the innings. Seifert was bowled while making room to play him offside. The ball was coming in with a little turn from outside the off stump, it was also a little low. Seifert (0) could not touch the bat.

Shariful did not allow another opener Allen to last for long. He confused Allen by using swing and angle in his first over. The result? Allan (1) was caught at slip by Shariful on the second ball of the second over. New Zealand was in danger losing 2 openers in 8 balls when Soumya Sarkar took a simple catch. ( Live Cricket Score, New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 3rd ODI

 ) Shariful did not stop there. On the very next ball, Mercutt, who had just arrived at the crease, found the pad of batsman Glenn Phillips (0). Phillips did not play a shot to come in the swing! In the end, he left the field due to LBW. New Zealand's scoreboard was 1 run, 3 wickets. Shariful was in front of the hat-trick by taking two consecutive wickets. Newcomer Mark Chapman took Shariful's hat-trick ball but could not stop the fall of wickets for long. ( Live Cricket Score New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 2nd ODI )

Darrell Mitchell tries to bat aggressively as soon as he comes to the crease. He seemed to be the only batsman who could run with the pace and spin of Bangladesh. But Mitchell also got out while playing on the opposite wrong line while batting. In the fifth over of the innings, Mitchell was bowled while hitting Mehdi's flight. He scored 14 runs off 15 balls in 2 boundaries. New Zealand lost the fourth wicket for 20 runs. ( 1st Test - Live Cricket Score, Bangladesh vs New Zealand )

It was Mehdi's second over. He did not get a wicket in the next two overs of the spell but stopped the runs from one end. Mehdi finished 4 overs in the 9th over of the innings. New Zealand managed to score only 14 runs. In the next over, Rishad Hossain, another spinner, came to the bowling and brought a break through. Set for 19 off 19 balls, Mark Chapman picked young Rishad's over for a quick run. But he was caught at extra cover while hitting. 10 overs of the innings have not yet finished, the team's runs are only 50, 5 New Zealand batsmen have gone back to the dressing room. ( Live Cricket Score New Zealand vs Bangladesh, 1st ODI )

However, Jimmy Neesham and Mitchell Santner saved New Zealand's standard in the middle overs. The two added 41 runs off 31 balls to take New Zealand's total to 90. However, Shariful did not allow the pair of two left-handers to grow up. In the 15th over, in the first over of the second spell, Santner was bowled by Soumya at short mid-wicket. Santner scored 23 runs off 22 balls before getting out.

Neesham was playing well. 4 fours and 3 sixes took New Zealand's run beyond a century. But in the 17th over, Neesham was caught by Afif at the cover boundary after driving a full toss outside off stump by Mustafiz. This left-handed all-rounder scored 48 runs off 29 balls, with a strike rate of 165. The Kiwis were then 110 for 7 wickets. The number of wickets could have been 8 in the next over. Tim Southee took two catches in that over bowled by Shariful. Both Rishad and Rony Talukder missed the chance to take easy catches.

In the next over, however, Southee took a mid-wicket catch off Mustafiz. If Afif caught, Southee's innings stopped at 8 runs. Tanjim Hasan got the first wicket in the last over of the innings. He dismissed Ish Sodhi on the bouncer. But Adam Milne took New Zealand's run to 134. 16 runs from 12 balls unbeaten from his bat.  Read More bangladesh vs new zealand 1st t20i

Mehdi played an important role in the late 14-ball 19-run cameo. That's why Bangladesh won with 8 balls left.

New Zealand Squad:
Playing: Tim Seifert (wk), Finn Allen, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner (c), Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears
Bench: Rachin Ravindra, Jacob Duffy
Support Staff: Gary Stead, Luke Ronchi, Shane Jurgensen
Bangladesh Squad:
Playing: Soumya Sarkar, Litton Das (wk), Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Rony Talukdar, Towhid Hridoy, Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman
Bench: Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Tanzid Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Tanvir Islam
Support Staff: Chandika Hathurusingha, Nic Pothas, Rangana Herath, Allan Donald, Shane McDermott

What's Your Reaction?